Governing Body

In This Section…

Governance is the process by which any organisation or group organises in order to be able to make decisions. In schools this includes the governing body, who are responsible for scrutiny of decisions made in school and for driving improvement, and the processes and policies which allow the school to work effectively and appropriately.

As a member school within a multi-academy trust, responsibility for the governance of Rushcliffe Spencer Academy ultimately lies with the Board of Trustees appointed to the Spencer Academies Trust. In common with all Spencer schools, Rushcliffe has a Local Governing Body (LGB), which is technically defined as a committee of the Trust Board.

You can find information about the Spencer Academies Trust Board here.

The powers defining the legal relationship between Rushcliffe and The Spencer Academies Trust, together with the delegation of general powers within the trust, are set out in a document called the Scheme of Delegation.

  • The Scheme of Delegation used at Rushcliffe Spencer can be found here.
  • The Trust governor handbook can be found here.
  • Copies of other Trust governance documents are available here.


The Rushcliffe Local Governing Body

The Chair of Governors at Rushcliffe is Rebecca Collison. She can be contacted in writing via the school office or by email via

The members of the Local Governing Body are as follows:

Name Type FIRST Appointed Responsibility

Charlene Bernard

Sponsor Governor


Safeguarding (including anti-bullying)

Frances Bryan

Community Governor


Behaviour & Attendance

Rebecca Collison

Community Governor



Ian Cranefield

Community Governor



Alex Edwards

Sponsor Governor


SEND/Pupil Premium

Mark Henebury

Community Governor



Sophie Morris

Staff Governor


Jess McGowan

Parent Governor


Finance & Resources

Damian Painton



Ian Redfearn

Parent Governor


Health & Safety

Amanda Tollafield

Community Governor



The Register of Pecuniary & Business Interests can be viewed here.

Governor attendance to meetings 2022-23 can be viewed here.

Governor attendance to meetings 2021-22 can be viewed here.